Author's Websites

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

The Reluctant Duchess by Roseanna M. White

Ladies and Dukes... don't you just love to read about the era of nobility?  This era is always fun to read about with their balls, fancy clothes.  Roseanna M. White has released her second book in the Ladies of the Manor series.  In The Lost Heiress, we are introduced to the Duke of Nottingham, Brice Myerston.  Find out about his story below.

From the Back Cover:

Will Fleeing the Scottish Highlands Only Leave Her in More Danger?
Lady Rowena Kinnaird may be the heiress to a Highland earldom, but she's never felt good enough--not for her father, not for the man she thought she'd marry, not for God. But after a shocking attack, she's willing to be forever an outcast if it means escaping those threatening her life.

Brice Myerston, the Duke of Nottingham, has never been one to shy away from manor-born ladies, yet the last thing he needs is the distraction of the newly introduced Lady Rowena. He has enough on his plate having recently come into possession of a rare treasure for which many would kill, yet those around him seem intent on pairing him with this desperate but beguiling girl.

Rowena is reluctant to marry this notorious flirt. And when she learns that Brice is mixed up in some kind of questionable business with a stolen treasure, she fears she'll end up in more danger than she fled.

My Review:
 This is an interesting story.  The history of this area is quite complicated since the English and Scottish are not exactly friends.  Lady Rowena has been thrust into a troubling situation and seems to have no way out until the Duke of Nottingham shows up.  The Duke is a highly sought-after bachelor thinking he was just going on vacation.  Little did he know that the Earl of Lochaber has other plans for him.  Brice and Rowenna have a quite a story and much to overcome.  I appreciated the author's insight in having the Duke listening to the still, small, voice of God prompting him in what he should do in each situation.  A good reminder for us as well to always listen and  be open to God's plan for us even when it doesn't make sense. I liked how the author included the familiar characters from the first book in this second novel.  I'm looking forward to reading the third book in this series coming out September 2016.

***I received this free book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...