Author's Websites

Monday, July 27, 2015

A Heart's Home by Colleen Coble (Journey of the Heart series book 6)

The last book of Colleen Coble's Journey of the Heart series will be released next month on August 4th.  Finally, we get to find out how this series will end and what will happen to Emmie Croftner and Isaac Liddle's relationship.

From the Back Cover:
Emmie's hope for a life with Isaac is overshadowed by a tragic loss at Fort Phil Kearny.
Isaac Liddle is keen to marry Emmie, and she knows she shouldn't hide her pregnancy from him any longer.  But before she can tell him her secret, a widower friend asks the impossible of Emmie: Will she honor her promise to his dead wife by marrying him to care for the orphaned baby?
With the Sioux Wars threatening outside the fort, Emmie's solemn vow threatens her happiness from within.  Will she honor a promise sure to break her heart--and Isaac's?  Or is there another way to find a home for her heart?

My Review:
This final book of the series continues in much the same way as the others.  Happiness seems within reach only to be devastated by another unforeseen conflict or trial.  The Indians are still giving them problems and actually the issues are continuing to escalate.  I think that Colleen has done a good job raping this series up.  All the loose ends are covered, even concerning what happened to the elusive Ben Croftner.  While I didn't like this series as much as her other newer books, I thought it was a good, clean read, and would recommend it.  It's great for reading shorter segments at a time since it's broken up into 6 small books that are about 100 pages or so.

***I received this book free from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest opinion.  All opinions are my own.

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Veggie Tales Super Comics Vol. 1 and 2 written by Aaron Linne and Illustrated by Cory Jones

Do you have kids who are fans of Veggie Tales?  How about any kids that are in to comic books?  The makers of Veggie Tales have come out with some great kid's comic books filled with fun little stories that teach a moral truth. 

Each Volume contains 3 stories and there are currently 2 Volumes that have been released.  Volumes 3 and 4 will be released in October of 2015.  The pages are filled with colorful art done by Cory Jones and the stories are written by Aaron Linne. 

Volume 1:
Dave and the Giant Pickle
Lyle the Kindly Viking
Larry Boy and the Prideosaurus

Volume 2:
League of Incredible Vegetables
LarryBoy and the Reckless Ruckus
Josh and the Big Wall

So if you are looking for some good comics that have good, wholesome material in them for your kids, take a look at these new VeggieTales books. 

***I received these free books from B&H kids in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own

Shadows of Ladenbrooke Manor by Melanie Dobson

Melanie Dobson's newest novel is out.  Shadows of Ladenbrooke Manor is a novel filled with mystery surrounding the Ladenbrooke Manor.  Read below to find out more about this story and what I thought about it.

From the Back Cover:
Years ago, the body of Oliver Croft, heir of Lord Croft of Ladenbrooke Manor, was found drowned in the River Coln.  Authorities searched for answers, but no one was ever held responsible for Oliver's death...
Libby Doyle, a free spirit who spends much of her time dancing with the butterflies in Ladenbrooke's gardens, has captivated Oliver Croft's heart.  But after Oliver drowns, Libby also vanishes, and her parents, Walter and Maggie Doyle, are left to wonder what really happened between their daughter and the boy who lived next door.
Forty-five years later, after Walter's death, Libby's sister Heather returns to her family's cottage in the English countryside, in the shadows of Ladenbrooke Manor, to sort through her parents' things.  What she uncovers is a string of shocking secrets that lead her to wonder if anything Walter and Maggie told her about her childhood was true.  As Heather sorts through the belongings left behind in the cottage, trying to separate truth from deceit, she has an uncomfortable reunion with her first love.  Together they unravel a mystery that will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

My Review:
I love a good mystery and this book definitely satisfies that craving.  Books set across the ocean in historic London are always a fun read. With their massive manors and old time customs, the stories that take place are usually an interesting adventure for those of us on this side of the ocean.  Having taken the train from London to Stratford-upon-Avon to a see a Shakespeare play back some years ago, it was fun to read a story set in that same area of England.  The story has a negative theme running through it of poor choices and the consequences that come from following fleshly desires.  Each generation seems to make the same bad choice, but lacks the courage to deal with the consequences in a healthy way and stop the cycle from happening again with their own children.  Be aware that there is the mention of premarital sex in this book; although not explicitly stated, the idea is implied.  Autism is another real life element talked about in this book.  It was an interesting inclusion into the storyline.  This is one condition I haven't read too much about in books.  The story was well written and thought out.  My only negative comment is that the story included sex before marriage, and I felt that there wasn't a strong enough statement made about what Scripture has to say about purity.

***I received this book free from Howard Books in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.

Friday, July 10, 2015

Laugh-Out-Loud Pocket Doodles for Girls by Rob Elliott

Do you have a child that loves to doodle? Or, do you have a child that loves to get out the joke book and try to make others laugh?  Well, in Laugh out Loud Pocket Doodles for Girls, doodling and jokes are brought together in a fun little book that is perfect for taking with you anywhere.

I think I was expecting more instruction or how to when I first opened the doodle book.  Instead I found that each page has a joke on it and then a partially drawn picture.  There are instructions on each page asking the kids to complete the picture by doodling whatever subject is being talked about in the joke.  I think that as my daughter becomes better at drawing, this book will be even more fun.  The age range for this book is 9-12 year olds.

So if you're looking for a fun gift for the aspiring artist in your family, pick up a copy of Rob Elliott's Laugh Out Loud Doodles for Girls.  There is also a Laugh Out Loud Pocket Doodles for Boys book too.

***I received this free book from Revell in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...