Author's Websites

Monday, August 3, 2015

Hearts Made Whole by Jody Hedlund, Beacons of Hope Series, Book 2

Hearts Made Whole is the second book in Jody Hedlund's Beacon of Hope series.  The stories in this series all take place at different Michigan Lighthouses.  I have always loved the lighthouses here in our great state of Michigan, so this series definitely piqued my interest.

From the Back Cover:
1865 Windmill Point, Michigan
Can She Forgive the Hurting Man Who Costs Her the Role She Loves?
After her father's death, Caroline Taylor has grown confident running the Windmill Point Lighthouse.  But in 1865 Michigan, women aren't supposed to have such roles, so it's only a matter of time before the lighthouse inspector appoints a new keeper--even though Caroline has nowhere else to go and no other job available to her.
Ryan Chambers is a Civil War veteran still haunted by the horrors of battle.  He's secured the position of lighthouse keeper mostly for the isolation--the chance to hide from his past is appealing.  He's not expecting the current keeper to be a feisty and beautiful woman who's angry with him for taking her job and for his inability to properly run the light.  When his failings endanger others, he and Caroline realize he's in no shape to run the lighthouse, but he's unwilling to let anyone close enough to help.  Caroline feels drawn to this wounded soul, but with both of them relying on that single position, can they look past their loss to a future filled with hope...and possibly love?

My Review:
I love Lighthouses!  There is something about them that is just beautiful sitting next to our glorious Great Lakes!  Like I said above, just the fact that the story took place at one of my Michigan Lighthouses intrigued me enough to pick up this novel.  The story was well written and fun to read.   I thought that the story was filled with great historical information and I really appreciated the fact that the main character was loosely based on a real person.  So, if you're looking for a new series to start, consider this one by Jody Hedlund.  The first book in this series is called, Love Unexpected, but there is a novella that begins the series called Out of the Storm that is a free e-book that you can get by clicking here.  Book #3 is coming out January 5, 2016 and is called Undaunted Hope.  You can find out more about Jody and her books at her website by clicking here.

I received this free book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...