Author's Websites

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

A Heart's Promise by Colleen Coble (book 5 in the Journey of the Heart series)

Book 5 in the Journey of the Heart series by Colleen Coble releases today!  On July 7th you can pick up your copy of A Heart's Promise and continue the story of Emmie Croftner, Isaac Liddle, Sarah and Rand Campbell, Amelia and Jacob Campbell among others.  Continue reading to find out what this book is all about and what I thought about the story.

From the Back Cover:
Emmie makes a promise to her friend that, if fulfilled, could mean the end to her dreams of a future with Isaac.
Emmie Croftner let Isaac Liddle go to avoid telling him about her past.  But Isaac remains determined to win Emmie's heart and hand.  Though Emmie resolves to keep her heart in check, it hurts when she sees that another woman has set her bonnet for Isaac.
Then Emmie's dear friend extracts a costly promise: if anything happens to her in childbirth, Emmie will marry her widower and raise the baby herself.  And it seems Emmie may have to fulfill that promise.  But can she live happily without Isaac?

My Review:
I thought the novel took some turns in the story that were both predictable and surprising.  Since the characters are familiar, it's fun to continue picking up their story in these short books, but I will say that some parts are pretty predictable.  This story gets just an okay from me.  While the story is wholesome, the plot seems all too familiar in this book in dealing yet again with a former foe.  This book isn't a horrible read; it just isn't one of the spellbinding novels I'm used to reading from Colleen Coble.  There is one more book to be released for this series.  That one, A Heart's Home, will be out August 4th.  I'm looking forward to finishing this series.

***I received this free book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...