Author's Websites

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

A Match of Wits (Book 4) by Jen Turano

In Jen Turano's fourth book, A Match of Wits, from the Ladies of Distinction series, we finally find Agatha Watson and Zayne Beckett's story. 

From the Back Cover:
After his departure from New York two years ago to meet up with his almost-fiance, Zayne Beckett is the last person Agatha Watson wanted to stumble upon in her travels as a reporter with the New York Tribune. Quite pathetically bedraggled, he clearly needs to be taken in hand and sent back East to his family. Although she no longer has feelings for him, Agatha realizes, by hook or by crook, she’ll have to be the one to get the obstinate man home.
Zayne has no desire to be taken anywhere and is prepared to drag his heels all the way home… until he finds himself slipping back into the familiar banter of his former friendship with Agatha. Once they arrive in New York, Zayne realizes Agatha’s determined nose for news has earned her a few enemies, and he hopes to repay her help with some help of his own. When she rebuffs all his attempts to prove himself a knight in shining armor, the lengths to which they’ll go to win this battle of wills lead to some memorable antics.
Everyone else may think them a match, but nothing could be further from the truth–until Agatha finds herself in real trouble. Have these two stubborn, too-smart-for-their-own-good people been meant for each other all along?

My Review:
This story is much like the other 3 stories in this series.  Some lucky lady is getting matched up, and this independent woman seems to bring a lot of trouble along with her.  In A Match of Wits, Zayne and Agatha are constantly bantering back and forth with each other.  They seem to have a lot of miscommunication, and some of their conversations are a bit on the humorous side.  Agatha is definitely a handful and sometimes her personality is quite over the top.  Zayne, on the other hand, seems to be a little dense when it comes to dealing with the ladies. When he opens his mouth, he usually makes things worse. The mystery of who wants Agatha dead adds a twist to the story and makes you wonder if they'll ever find out who really is the culprit.  If you're looking for some fun, light reading, then pick up this novel by Jen Turano.  I would recommend reading these books in order since the characters carry over and play key parts in the later novels.
Book 1--A Change of Fortune, Book 2--A Peculiar Circumstance, and Book 3--A Talent for Trouble (you can read my review by clicking here).  Read more about Jen Turnano here at her website.

**I received this free book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...