Author's Websites

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

The Redcoats Are Coming! (AIO Imagination Station Books) Book #13

 I love the Imagination Station books!  In these adventurous books, cousins Patrick and Beth travel through time meeting a lot of great people from history.  Their adventures usually encounter some mystery to solve and are often trying to get out of a sticky situation.  The latest adventure takes the cousins back to 1775 to meet Paul Revere.  This is the first of a three book set about the American Revolution.

Back of the Book Description:
"If they capture you, they can hand you for treason," Paul Revere said.  Join the cousins Patrick and Beth on a patriotic adventure set in 1775, Concord, Massachusetts.  They have a simple mission: to deliver a letter to Paul Revere.  They arrive just in time to meet founding fathers John Hancock and Samuel Adams.  They also meet a teen girl name Sybil.  She's collecting musket balls for the Patriots and is on the lookout for Loyalist spies.  But where is Paul Revere?  When the letter goes mysteriously missing, all seems lost.  Patrick and Beth try to get it back, only to be accused as spies!  Will they be able to convince Paul Revere they're on the side of freedom?  Or will the real spies win out and crush the Revolution before it begins?
The key to adventure lies within your imagination!

My Thoughts:
The author has again done a great job to get kids interested in American history.  I love that the story goes back in time and brings history to life!  The story line is great and will capture the attention of your kids.  Patrick and Beth seem to end up right in the middle of things and that is no exception with this story.  I love the mystery of the missing letter.  A good mystery is always great!  These books are just great reading for kids.  You can rest assured that they will not only teach them about history, but will include a good moral lesson as well.  If you're looking for a great series to start with your child who is age 7 and up, consider picking up this series.

Look for the next book in this 3 part series called Captured on the High Seas.  You can find out more about The Imagination Station books by clicking here.

***I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a honest review.  All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...