Author's Websites

Friday, March 4, 2011

Voyage with the Vikings (Imagination Station books)

I recently received Voyage with the Vikings from Tyndale house to read and review.  This is the first book in the Imagination Station series.  The imagination station is a time machine that a local inventor has at his workshop.  The machine transports the children back in time to Greenland in the year 1000 during the time of the Vikings.  They learn a lot as they work together to find a mysterious item called the sandstone that they must retrieve before going back home.  The book shows how doing the right thing may be hard, but it is always the right choice.  The book ends with another mystery that must be solved which leads into the next book of the series.  The other books in the series are: Attack at the Arena (book 2), Peril in the Palace (book 3), and Revenge of the Red Knight (book 4).  This series is recommended for children ages 7 and up. 

I really enjoyed reading Voyage with the Vikings.  This series would be great for a child to read on his own or to read it together as a family.  The plot was laid out well and the mystery makes you desire more.  I thought the ending was great in that it led to another mystery to be solved in the next book.  The books not only teach history, but they also teach good moral principles too.  I would highly recommend this series to anyone with children 7 and up.  This would also be a great series to encourage kids who are not excited about reading.  I think it would keep their attention and show them that reading can be fun!

**I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in an exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...